5km

Two weeks ago, after almost three months of injury I did a 5km run. My time barely cracked 33 minutes and to say I felt discouraged was putting it lightly. Prior to getting injured I was running sub 26 fairly consistently with the aim of brining that down to low 20’s this year and maybe (maybe) giving a half tri a go. I knew my first run back wouldn’t be great, but I (perhaps naively?) didn’t think it would be almost 8 minutes worse.

I wanted to post this photo, not because the time is any good but because after 2 weeks, today, I finally managed to crack sub 30. Things are looking up. The worst part about running is having to get fit and the best part is getting faster and that feeling of knowing your fitness is improving.  I am truly a lost soul without exercise.

I should also say, I’m definitely not a runner by any means – I do one 5km run a week (parkrun) and if it wasn’t for that this post probably would never have existed!

Leave a Reply

