Attempting to swim

After spraining both (yes, both) my ankles a just before Christmas and being rather bluntly told by my physio I can’t get back into high impact sport until March, I’ve recently started swimming. I haven’t swam laps since high school (and never really enjoyed it then either) so I always knew a transition into the pool would be reasonably painful… and I wasn’t wrong. Swimming is tough! And I’m pretty sure my technique is non-existent, but nevertheless it’s a start. My aim is to swim 1500m freestyle without stopping (baby steps) in however long it takes me and then hopefully be able to either increase my pace or distance (or both) from there. I found a 0 to 1500m program here which looks reasonable – I’m not sure if I’ll be able to fit 3 swims in a week once touch footy season starts but I’m going to give it a go anyhow.

Honestly, the most difficult part is actually getting off my butt, into my togs and out to the pool – once I’m in I actually quite enjoy the repetition of the laps. Yep…no one is more surprised than me.

Leave a Reply

